Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lavender Chill

I don’t know if I would have believed it if I hadn’t seen it for myself . . . mellow crowds of people!  Yesterday I headed to Sequim . . . which is pronounced ‘Squim’ . . . about 90 minutes north of where I live for their annual Lavender Festival.  Sequim, WA is located at the northern tip of the Olympic Peninsula and looks over the Straights of Juan de Fuca and across to British Columbia.

For several years I have wanted to attend the Lavender Festival and this weekend was perfect for a visit.  The Lavender Festival is a collection of events taking place on numerous lavender farms and the downtown area.  First stop was Street Fair Lavender Central with over 140 booths of lavender and lavender products and local artisans.  As soon as one steps out of your car you are hit with the intoxicating aroma of lavender . . . The entire town is engulfed in it!  Normally I stay away from crowds since I’m often stepped on by taller people that don’t see me . . . however, this was different.  Everyone seemed mellowed out by the unavoidable lavender scent.  Even the smells from the food vendors couldn’t compete.  No one seemed to mind getting bumped into or accidently elbowed.  Perhaps there really is something to the calming effects to lavender aroma therapy.

 Second stop was Jardin du Soleil Lavender . . . one of the seven large lavender farms participating in the festival.  I loved the sight of people serenely walking through the lavender fields. Lavender field

 No one seemed to be rushed . . . Just enjoying a beautiful day.  http://www.jardindusoleil.com/

 Third stop was Purple Haze Lavender Farm http://www.purplehazelavender.com/ . . . This is probably the best known of the lavender farms in the area.  Everything is lavender . . . including the ice cream.  It was here I ran into two fiber artists, Renee Emiko Brock-Richmond and Dixie McAndrews, from the North Olympic Shuttle & Spindle Guild . . . a guild I’ve had the opportunity to speak at a couple of times.  It was wonderful to see fiber artists thick in the middle of the festival.  It was through them I learned about the upcoming North Olympic Fiber Arts Festival  scheduled for the first weekend in October.  There are workshops from beginning spinning to using your personal computer to print on silk to sewing a rice paper scarf to parfait dyeing.  Every workshop is extremely reasonable in price with modest materials fees (if there is one).  Now the key is figuring out what I want to sign up for.  If you’re interested, check out  http://www.fiberartsfestival.org/ for more information.

Lavendar field

 Next year I’ll plan on an earlier start so I can visit more of the lavender farms . . . when one is under the spell of lavender, taking one’s time is a given.  I was so inspired by yesterday’s adventures, that I’ve decided to create a lavender swivel treadling pattern.  Lavender swivel pattern

Comments on: "Lavender Chill" (3)

  1. Congrats on the new blog!

    • loomchick said:

      Thanks, Alice! I’m still trying to figure out how to best utilize all of this technology (e.g., blogging, Facebook, Twitter, etc.)

  2. Robyn, your Lavender swivel pattern is really cool! I think I would like to try it as a border on a dish towel. Later this summer I will be working on more lavender sachets that sell quickly at the Holiday Sale our guild holds in November.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

