Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thistle a Happy Tune!

I recently posted a lavender swivel pattern that was inspired by my recent trip to the annual Lavender Festival in Sequim, WA.  That pattern was the impetus to someone asking me if I could come up with a thistle swivel pattern.  It seemed like a reasonable request since I’m so passionate about anything Scottish . . . especially Celtic patterns . . . and thistles seem to go hand-in-hand.  So . . . here it is.

Thistle a happy tune in swivel on an eight-shaft point twill threading!

Thistle a happy tune in swivel on an eight-shaft point twill threading!

I think it looks like a thistle.  The draft above shows only the pattern picks, so you still need to add the complementary picks that follow each pattern pick.  However, the drafts looks rather unattractive with both the pattern and complementary picks.  Sometime next year, I would love to publish a collection of swivel treadlings for a handful of versatile threadings (e.g., 8-shaft point twill, 8-shaft straight draw twill, 16-shaft straight draw, etc.).  I think they’re a lot of fun to weave.  I just need to find the time.  <insert big sigh>  Too many ideas, too little time.

Comments on: "Thistle a Happy Tune!" (4)

  1. Judith L Tipple said:

    What’s the tie up?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

