Just another WordPress.com weblog

I got to celebrate Mardi Grax a little early in Houston while I was there to do a program and teach a workshop for the Contemporary Handweavers of Houston (CHH).  On the last day of the workshop, I was introduced to “King Cake” . . . and I even got the baby baked inside!  (I also understand the person that finds the baby has certain rights and responsilibites . . . but, more on that in minute!).  I even wore my Mardi Gras beads all the way home and learned that if you want to make the process of getting through TSA security screening a little fun, show up wearing Mardi Gras beads!  Even passengers on the plane were wondering where the party was.

The weather was absolute perfection!  Low-to-mid 70’s and sunny.  The CHH weavers were such a great group and I hated to see the workshop end . . . and also leave behind one of the cutest dogs I’ve ever seen.  Georgie belonged to my host, Sandy . . . and just looking at her sweet face brought a smile to my face.  The weaving in the workshop looked wonderful . . . and I also enjoyed the creativity and ingenuity in their use of color, texture, etc. . . . even coming up with solutions to weighting warp ends with car keys and Mardi Gras beads!

As I understand it, the person that gets the baby in the King Cake is responsible for buying the cake for next year . . . however, I doubt if I will be back in Houston for Mardi Gras next year . . . but, hopefully the CHH weavers can hold tight until the Contemporary Handweavers of Texas 2011 conference in College Station, TX is held in June 2011 (check out weavetexas.org for more information)  . . . I promise ‘payback’ in some way while I’m there to teach . . . in the meantime, I will hold on to my fond memories . . . which should be easy to do since my Mardi Gras beads are now hanging on the castle of my AVL and will serve as a reminder every day!

Comments on: "Mardi Gras in Houston – Party Gras on looms" (4)

  1. Well you didn’t mention you are the keynote speaker at CHT Conference in 2011! Congratulations! Bummer it is the same weekend as ANWG and Surface Design Conference.

  2. Robyn, I was sorry to miss you at CHH. I heard great things about the workshop. I will be at the CHT conference, vending so I’ll look for you in June 2011! Tracy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

