Just another WordPress.com weblog

In a previous post here, I mentioned that I like to stop by my local Goodwill and poke around looking for interesting textiles . . . I have found some amazing textiles there.  I have a new one that is worthy of display at Lacis in Berkely, CA and pictures will appear here in the near future because it’s waiting for a good pressing.  The occasional textile find at my local Goodwill surprises me.  I don’t know if it’s where I live and no one is interested in textiles or whether my planets occasionally align and my car just steers it’s way there at an opportune time.  Perhaps there is no reason and I’m just plain lucky

Yesterday was another adventure at Goodwill . . . however, instead of finding unique teextiles, I came across a beautiful spinning wheel!  I know how to spin and own an Ashford Traveller spinning wheel . . . I just don’t spin very often . . . although, I have found it a very handy method for creating long lengths of cording for weaving in to trim.

The spinning wheel has all of its parts . . . it’s only missing cording, which is easy enough to replace. I initially decided against buying it because I don’t need a spinning wheel . . . but, knowing what spinning wheels cost and  it was intact, in good shape, and had all of its parts . . . plus, it came with a lazy kate with three addtional spools .  . . I went back and bought it.  It was pretty dirty, but it cleaned up really well after I got it home.

Weaving equipment follows me home from time-to-time . . . usually, because someone has found me via my website and has a loom or something they wish to get rid of.  I never buy anything . . . but, I agree to be it’s “foster” parent until I find a good adoptive home.  Perhaps this spinning wheel will find a new home after I get it back together and working properly . . . In the meantime, if anyone knows what kind of wheel it is, I’d love to hear from you.  I’ve included a photograph below.

Spinning wheel found at Goodwill

Comments on: "Spinning my wheels at Goodwill . . . again!" (8)

  1. That is one gorgeous wheel! When are you going to tie on the cord and take it for a ride?

  2. It looks like an Ashford kit wheel. Usually they have too much varnish in the grove on the wheel and newbies can’t get them to spin after they’ve spent all that time staining and varnishing them to within an inch of their life.
    Diane

    • I don’t think it’s an Ashford kit . . . I’vw put many Ashford wheels together and this one has features and fittings I’ve never seen on an Ashford wheel before. It could remain a mystery . . . regardless of its manufacturer, it’s a very nice wheel with very smooth action.

  3. Robin, it looks definitely Canadian. I have David Pennington’s American Spinning Wheels, and am checking its genealogy. What a beautiful patina it has! I have one that was made in Wisconsin in 1976 that looks very similar. Have you checked the table to see if it is signed at all?

    Hope you are getting a bit of Spring on the west coast! Another storm predicted for Monday here…and we could use more snow!!!

    Hugs.

    • Thank you, Nancy! It may remain a mystery . . . there’s a possibility that it’s may be an early Ashford “Elizabeth” spinning wheel. Regardless, I’ve loved hearing from people about their speculations.

  4. …tried to delete the ‘Canadian’ part. No can do.

  5. You’ve got it right. It is an Ashford Elizabeth spinning wheel 🙂 Wow, I am so envious you were able to find a spinning wheel at your local Goodwill! Wish that luck would rub off on me as I am looking for one in my town just 2 hours away from yours! 😀

Leave a comment