Just another WordPress.com weblog

There’s a line in the movie Broadcast News that crosses my mind with a great deal of frequency . . . What do you do when your life exceeds your expectations?  The character in the movie that utters that phrase is told Keep it to yourself.  Since my life often exceeds my expectations, I think of that phrase . . . but, I just can’t seem to  keep it to myself .

Recently, I was fortunate to have the opportunity to teach at The Fine Line Creative Arts Center in St. Charles, IL (about an hour away from Chicago).  This facility is exceptional and must be seen to be appreciated.  I was inspired just walking in through the front door.  The weaving studio is stunning with a variety of beautiful looms.  I doubt I will ever get over the feeling when I look at a room of gleaming looms in maple, cherry, etc.  I’m like a kid on Christmas morning looking at the presents Santa left under the tree.  The rest of the facility is not to missed too!  There are numerous craft skills taught there . . . from painting and pottery to blacksmithing and jewelry making.  I’ve included pictures below of the workshop . . . and for more information about The Fine Line Creative Arts Center, go to their website at http://www.fineline.org/.  I also included a picture of a crocheted wall hangning that was displayed there.  It’s a bout 3 1/2 feet wide and 5 feet long.

Comments on: "A Grand Time at The Fine Line!" (4)

  1. Linn Sorge said:

    My extraordinary weaving teacher at the Fine Line, Heather Winslow, encouraged me to take Robyn’s workshop. I have always been hesitant to try a round robin class. I am totally blind and weave for joy, peacefulness, and growing, certainly NOT for speed at doing such things. The Fine Line and all who dwell there are a very supportive environment. It is a very accepting place to try new things and folks with special needs are welcomed and made to feel part of the group. Since I always enjoy both sides of my weaving projects with my fingertips as I weave, Heather’s enthusiasm and willingness to lend me a hand when needed convinced me to try Robyn’s “Two Sides to Every Cloth” workshop. Heather read me all of the handouts ahead of time so I could braille up everything I needed. I asked her if she’d “warned” Robyn that I was taking the workshop. I was assured that such had been done and Robyn did not seem to be phased. It was a very challenging two days for me moving from loom to loom, pattern to pattern, often using three shuttles when weaving the samples. But, as Robyn indicated she was fortunate to teach at Fine Line, we were all fortunate to have her be our instructor and share her skills, organization, and enthusiasm with each of us.

    • loomchick said:

      Linn, you’re such a dear person! Your posting on my blog really touched me. It was a joy having you in the class. You are an inspiration to so many of us. You shared with me some insights into new dimensions of the workshop samples.

  2. Robyn, it was terrific to have you our with us at the Fine Line. My samples are in my binder and I’m looking forward to working with these techniques. Thanks for making the trek to the prairie!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

