Just another WordPress.com weblog

2011 . . . Bring it on!

New Year’s is my all-time favorite holiday!  Why?  Well, you can start the year any way you like.  Plus, no one dislikes it.  I can honestly say I’ve never heard anyone grumble about New Year’s.  But, most importantly, it’s about new beginnings and opportunities.  If you had a good year, you probably feel positive about a new one.  If the past year was a bit difficult, a new year provides a clean slate with a year chock full of possibilities.

2010 was an amazing year for me!  It’s probably the only time I fulfilled my New Year’s resolution . . . stay out of hospitals.  Baring any kind of disaster in the next 12 hours or so, I expect it to remain.  After the events of 2009, this was a biggie!  Best of all, in 2010 I got to spend time with amazing weavers and other fiber artists teaching, sharing, and getting inspired . . . and hopefully, providing a little inspiration to others.  2011 is shaping up to be just as incredible, if not more so!

As a way of celebrating the end of a great year, I would like to share a couple of things that make me smile.

First, I will be ending 2010 and beginning 2011 by drinking Weaver’s Coffee!  Yes, you read that correctly.  Weaver’s Coffee.  I bought this at Whole Foods when I was in Berkeley, CA last month.  When I found out about it, I knew I just had to get some.

Second, weavers can be odd creatures because we sometimes find intrigue with spiders when many people avoid them at all costs.  Recently, a spider ingratiated itself by spinning a web on my deck and staying very still in the center of it while I took its picture.  And, yes . . . it was a big web and a big spider!

Last, but not least, our two birds like hanging out in my studio and have staked out their favorite hangouts.  Rosie likes to set herself on the crank handle on top of my 16-strand maypole braider, while Pepper prefers perching on top of my AVL.  They’re both still young and it’s a little weird when they both decide to fly around at the same time . . . but, they’re good company and tolerate the noise and activity when I’m weaving away.

Happy New Year!  I look forward to sharing my upcoming fiber adventures in 2011.  I think it’s going to be a great year!

Comments on: "2011 . . . Bring it on!" (3)

  1. Happy New Year, Robyn – thanks for sharing your amazing adventures and insights! You inspire me to work harder and smarter in the new year! Best wishes!

  2. Hi Robyn,

    So glad to hear you did *not* go to any hospitals this year and hope that trend continues. Wishing you and yours the very best to come.

    Cheers,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

