Just another WordPress.com weblog

The 2011 Sewing & Stitchery Expo (aka “SewExpo) was held March 3-6, 2011 at the Puyallup Fairgrounds in Puyallup, WA . . . and what a blast!  This is the largest sewing-related conference in the USA . . . It’s a tradition here . . . and has become an iconic event over the years.  People come from all over the USA and even outside the USA to attend this event.

I’ve attended many times in the past.  I’ve always felt fortunate that SewExpo happens in my very own backyard.  However, this year was different . . . This year I was one of the teachers.  All of my classes were related to my latest monograph, Jewelry Making for Fiber Enthusiasts.  This is the sequel to my monograph Jewelry from Your Yarn Stash . . . but, this includes techniques for both yarn and fabric.

In order to teach at SewExpo, one has to be associated with a vendor booth.  I was fortunate to be able to work with my friend Cheri, who owns Ah! Kimono . . . a company that specializes in vintage Japanese fabrics.  You can learn more about them at http://www.ahkimono.com/.  Not only did this make it possible for me to teach at SewExpo, but I got to spend a lot of time surrounded by some really great people and a lot of stunning silk fabric!

I was so busy teaching and working in the booth, that I forgot to take pictures . . . and I hope many images will be available at http://www.sewexpo.com/in the very near future.  I did get a couple of pictures of the banquet hosted by the Greater Seattle Chapter of the American Sewing Guild (ASG).  Cecelia Podolak was the keynote speaker and was thoroughly enjoyable . . . and her husband, Peter, is a real charmer!  Cecelia shared with us her background and how pressing became such an important topic.   http://www.ceceliapodolak.com/.  It was a lot of fun . . . and I was so surprised how many people in attendance did not live in the area . . . many were from out-of-state . . . and some were even from outside the USA.  A really great gathering!

Ceclia Podolak addresses the ASG banquet

In addition to the official unveiling of my new monograph, I had a couple of pleasant surprises . . . First, was providing some audio-visual support for both Marcy Tilton and Katherine Tilton (Yes, two of the people that design patterns for Vogue).  I had my own projector with me, but the projector in one of the rooms started acting up.  There’s nothing like a bonding experience over AV equipment . . . and in hindsight it made for a more memorable SewExpo experience . . . and I was thrilled when they came by the Ah! Kimono booth on the morning of the last day to say”Thank you.”

Me with the infamous Tilton sisters

Another pleasant surprise was meeting Connie James.  She owns Fiber Goddess and has some of the most beautiful supplies for making cord http://fibergoddess.net/ . . . home of the Diva Cord Maker . . . and if you can make a cord, you’re on the fast track for making some really great jewelry.  This was a match made in Heaven (if you consider SewExpo Heaven).  It looks like this could be the beginning of a meaningful relationship.

I was sorry to see SewExpo come to an end . . . but, my feet were grateful.  I’m already looking forward to next year!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

