Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m a native of the Pacific Northwest.  I was born in Portland, OR and lived there for nearly 29 years.  I have lived in the Seattle, WA area for over 22 years.  While living in Oregon and Washington, I’ve always considered Idaho completion of the Pacific Northwest trilogy.  As a result, I’ve learned some odd things about Idaho:

  • The term “Famous Potatoes” has appeared on their license plates since 1957
  • Idaho is the nation’s largest producer of potatoes . . . what I didn’t know is that they are also the largest producers of trout, Austrian winter peas, and lentils.
  • The Appaloosa horse is the official horse of Idaho state (Okay, I admit . . . I LOVE horses!)
  • It’s a larger state than many realize.  It’s the 14th largest state in the USA and larger than Washington state (by approximately 17%)
  • Idaho is The Gem State and produces over 70 types of precious and semi-precious stones
  • The deepest river gorge in the North American Continent is Idaho’s Hells Canyon.  At 7,900 feet deep, it’s deeper than the Grand Canyon!
  • It is against the law to be seen in public without a smile on your face in Pocatello, ID.  (I suppose they just grin and bear it!)
  • In Idaho, its against the law for anyone over the age of 88 to ride a motorcycle or ride a merry-go-round on Sundays
  • In Boise, Idaho’s state capital, it’s illegal to fish from a giraffe’s back

I recently had the honor to do my workshop, Extreme Warp Makeover, for the Handweavers Guild of Boise Valley.  It was the first time I’ve ever had everyone finish all of the treadling variations during the workshop.  A remarkable accomplishment.  It’s a lot of weaving and I was extremely impressed!  I also had the chance to spend some time with other recipients of HGA’s Certificate of Excellence (COE).  It was a lot of fun . . . and I stayed out of trouble since I didn’t ride a merry-go-round on Sunday . . . plus, I didn’t see any giraffes.  Idaho may be The Gem State, but the most precious gems of all in Idaho are its weavers!

Marveling at the warp

You might be surprised how often we dress to match our warps!

An informal gathering of COE recipients

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

