Just another WordPress.com weblog

More Rocky Mountain High

Yowza!  I’m a little tardy sharing my latest textile adventure.  What happened to November?  And, how did it get to be December so quickly?

Anyway, my latest (and last trip for 2011) textile adventure found me back in Colorado.  This summer, I had the honor to teach at the Intermountain Weavers Conference (IWC) in Durango, CO . . . recently, I had the honor to do a program and workshop for the Rocky Mountain Weavers Guild in Denver, CO where there is a majestic quality that makes me (again) want to break out my John Denver CDs and sing along.

The program and the workshop were held at the Textile Arts Center (TACtile)  http://www.tactilearts.org/index.html.

TACtile is an art center and gallery inspiring growth, visibility, and creative excellence in textile arts and has been in their current location for about a year.  They have modeled themselves after The Textile Center in Minneapolis, MN.  This is a really exciting place place to be for a short time . . . but, I was fortunate to spend four days there.  Not only is TACtile there, but so are the headquarters for JHB buttons and their button museum.  It was a lot of fun to look at the multitude of buttons . . . and thimbles too!

The program for the Rocky Mountain Weavers Guild was The Fab Four . . . a program that shares some really great weaves that can be done on only four shafts.  I think it helped show what was possible on a modest four-shaft loom and I hope I surprised some folks.  I know I was surprised after the program to turn and find myself face-to-face with Jean Scorgie, former editor of Handwoven magazine and current editor of Weaver’s Craft  http://www.weaverscraft.com/.  Jean has done so many wonderful things on four shafts and I often share images of her work from her articles and publications.  I’ve communicated with her via email a couple of times, but have never had the pleasure to meet her in person.  My first thought as soon as I saw her was Oh, no!  I hope I haven’t said anything wrong!  She was nothing but goodness personified and I was thrilled to tell her how much I have enjoyed her articles and publications and how much I have learned.  It’s always fun to meet someone with an enthusiasm for things that get you excited.

The workshop Extreme Warp Makeover was a rather large group and lot of fun . . . the more the merrier!  A great way to finish up my teaching for 2011.  There’s something very exciting and energizing about seeing so many looms and weavers in one room!

Every time I teach, I meet new people and make new friends . . . but, this workshop was a little more special than usual because I met Ayla, a 14 year-old weaving dynamo with a smile that would warm the heart on the coldest day.  She didn’t wait to initiate her corduroy sample and jumped right in and started weaving and cutting . . . in Hogwart’s Gryffindor colors, no less.  Harry Potter would be very proud . . . I know I was completely and totally impressed with her skill and courage.

Not only does Ayla weave, but she is involved in just about every possible textile technique I’m familiar with . . . plus, she showed many of us a great way to do a blended weft by using multiple sewing machine bobbins on a single shuttle.  I’ve done this with larger sewing thread spools, but I love how manageable this approached is.  A possible future editor of Handwoven???  I think so!  Ayla’s blog can be found at http://ayla-art.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

