Just another WordPress.com weblog

With the wealth of information readily available (especially on the Internet), it can be really exciting . . . but, a little overwhelming.  Over the years I have found great resources at my local library, on the Internet, and more that have inspired me . . . and I’ve decided to use this blog to share these with you one week at a time . . . or rather, that’s the plan . . . so if I miss a week here and there, forgive me.

One of my favorite resources is the website Colourlovers.com http://www.colourlovers.com/.  I love searching color palettes for new inspiration of color combinations or play with making my own color palette when handed a challenging color . . . such as Tangerine Tango, Pantone’s 2012 Color of the Year.  http://www.pantone.com/

What the color palettes on Colourlovers.com really demonstrate is the importance of proportion.   As bold and powerful as Tangergine Tango is, I find using it as a primary color could be too intense (at least for me) . . . but, using it as an accent could really liven up a the colors I may use in a future weaving project.  I can also find incredible color palettes developed by others that use colors that remind me of some of the cones of yarns on my shelves that just seem to sit there looking sad and flat and show me how to breathe new life into them.   As of this morning, there were over 1.9 million different color palettes . . . and yes, you read that correctly . . . 1.9 MILLION!

You can see the comments left by others while you look through the color palettes (by the way . . . there are also patterns, colors, shapes, etc. . . . It’s not just color palettes) . . . plus, by creating an account (which is free), you can create your own color palettes and get feedback on them.

Some of the most intriguing color palettes I have found are below.  Why am I intrigued by them?  The individual colors don’t do anything for me . . . but, when put together in different proportions . . . I find a new appreciation.  It’s amazing what a little pink can do to punch things up (and I’m not a pink person).

You can even take a color palette and choose Create Pattern (below and to the right of the color palette) and it defaults to a tartan-like interlacement.  There are also pattern categories that you can browse through and see the color palette used in different ways, which may be inspirational . . . especially if you have a loom with lots of shafts.

Another inspiring thing you can do at Colourlovers.com is load a photograph and have it extract the color palette using their Photocopa tool.  http://www.colourlovers.com/photocopa.  Below is a photograph of my husband’s parrot, Pepper, that I loaded.  The colors to the right of the image are the colors the Photocopa extracted and underneath are the five colors (the limit for a palette) I chose that I thought best captured the photograph.  I haven’t played with proportion yet . . . but, that’s the next step.

I’m still learning about the multitude of things I can do at Colourlovers,com . . . I find so many things that inspire me at I have to be careful to limit my time.  The first time I ventured into the website, I ended up experiencing a time distortion . . . it only took 15 minutes for three hours to pass me by!

I hope you enjoy Colourlovers!

 

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things – Colourlovers.com" (8)

  1. forrestwife said:

    Interesting and informative post.
    thanks

  2. Hmmmmm, Tangerine Tango may be a challenge! I much prefer Turquoise from 2009.
    Thanks for posting the resources — I’ll tell my students about them!
    Elaine fw

    • loomchick said:

      I agree . . . Tangerine Tango is a challenge . . . but, that may be what I like it about it. One of the most important color-related experiences in my life was prompted by a gallery wanting me to do more with orange. I hope your students enjoy Colourlovers.com!

    • loomchick said:

      I agree . . . Tangerine Tango is a challenge . . . but, that may be what I like it about it. One of the most important color-related experiences in my life was prompted by a gallery wanting me to do more with orange. I hope your students enjoy Colourlovers.com!

  3. Thanks Robyn, that’s a very useful post. At the next Seven Hills Handweavers guild meeting, I will be demonstrating how the internet and the computer can help our weaving. If you don’t mind, I would like to mention your blog and colorlovers.com 🙂

    • loomchick said:

      Thank you, Michele! Please share away. I’ve loads more resources coming . . . there will be a new one tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

