Just another WordPress.com weblog

Did you know The Weaver’s Journal is available on-line?  No, not Weaver’s magazine . . . I’m referring to a weaving publication published in the 70’s and 80’s.  It lasted a decade from 1976 to it’s final issue in the summer of 1986 and the first 16 issues are available in their entirety on-line on the On-Line Digital Archive of Documents on Weaving and Related Topics that was established by Ralph Griswold.

First, a few words about Ralph Griswold  – Dr. Griswold was a computer scientist known for his research into high-level programming languages and symbolic computation.  His language credits include the string processing language SNOBOL and ICON.  After working for Bell Labs in the 60’s, he was hired by the University of Arizona as its first professor of computer science.

After his retirement in 1995, Dr. Griswold turned his interests to the mathematical aspects of weaving and ended up establishing the On-Line Digital Archive of Documents on Weaving and Related Topics . . . a glorious treasure trove of resources available to those with an Internet connection . . . where some of my favorite things are available.  The resources available have been made accessible because the copyright has expired or permission was obtained to reproduce documents.  It’s my understanding that Dr. Griswold did not weave, but his interest has left us with so many things just a click away.  Unfortunately, he passed away in 2006 . . . but, his legacy lives on and weavers around the world can benefit from his work.

Which brings me to The Weaver’s Journal . . . one of my favorite things.  The Weaver’s Journal was first published in July 1976 and was edited and published by Clotilde Barrett .  In its pages are articles on weaving, spinning, dyeing, and more!  I love Ms. Barrett’s opening line for the first issue . . .

There is no substitute for a good weaving teacher . . .

I whole heartily agree with this statement . . . but, sometimes a good weaving teacher is not available.  That’s why I embrace weaving-related publications.  

A few high points for me have been . . .

  • In the first issue, there’s an article about spinning dog hair and basic sewing techniques for handwoven fabric
  • A four-part series on Shadow Weave presented in the first four issues
  • Bound woven rugs in Vol II, Issue 1
  • Hints on Weaving and Finishing Rugs in Vol II, No 2
  • Space dented warps by Laura Fry in Vol IV, No 3
  • Vol III, No 3 is dedicated to silk (Which makes me think Woohoo!)

There are articles on block weaves, lace weaves, weaver-manipulated techniques, and much much more.  Enough to keep a weaver occupied for a very long time.  I will admit these first 16 issues reflect what publishing journals (and handwoven fashions) looked like over 30 years ago, but look beyond the black-and-white images and bog jackets and study the content and you will be surprised what you will find . . . Plus, you may develop a new appreciation for the publications, like Handwoven, currently in print.  Color is a pretty sexy thing!

You can find the first 16 issues of The Weaver’s Journal at http://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/wj.html . . . If your connection to the Internet is modest, you may be able to download these issues at your local library and put them on CD for your reading pleasure and convenience.

Enjoy!  Even if you get a small percentage of the value I’ve received out of these issues, you will have learned a lot!

(Correction . . . all 46 issues are available at the above link . . . for some reason my computer has only seen the first 16, until day!  Cool! More to read)

The cover of the very first issue of The Weaver's Journal

Learn more about weaving with two-ties - Vol III, No.4

A not-to-miss issue if you have an interest in weft-faced weaves!

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things – The Weaver’s Journal" (8)

  1. Janet Stollnitz said:

    Love your new approach to blogging (Is this a word?)! There are wonderful resources hidden online. Thanks for sharing.
    Janet

  2. rosearbor said:

    I love what you are sharing, Robyn. Funny, I was just looking through and downloading Weaver’s Journal issues last week, and I too could only see 16 issues. I think it might have to do with the way we got there. I’m bookmarking this link so I can get to the rest of them. The articles have terrific details, but you are right, you need to look past the bog jackets!
    LB

  3. Awesome – I have some of the hard copies (out of my mom’s stash), but it’s neat that the rest are available. There is some wonderful, basic (and not so) information in those magazines.

    Thanks for getting the word out!

  4. I know this comment is a little late, but thanks so much for this. I downloaded them all within a couple of days after you posted. Then I e-mailed them to my Kindle e-mail account, which put them all in my Kindle app on my iPAD. It makes them so easy to navigate and puts a wealth of knowledge right at my fingertips. I’m enjoying reading an article any time I have a few minutes.

    • loomchick said:

      I’m glad you have found The Weavers Journal helpful. I’m impressed with the wealth of information within the 46 issues that are now so readily available . . . and grateful that I can benefit from the hard work of others. I hope to load some on to my iPad in the near future.

  5. Ken Barrett said:

    Ran across this today. My mother, Clotilde Barrett, was the original publisher of the Weaver’s Journal, and I remember stuffing envelopes for her during the early years. My picture even appears in one of the 1979 issues. Many of the other models and authors were family or friends as well. Brings back a lot of memories. By the way, my mother is alive and well and living in Torrey, Utah.

    • loomchick said:

      Thank you for writing, Ken. The Weavers Journal is such a wonderful resource and I hope more weavers learn more about it. Thank you also for letting me know your mother is alive and well. I’ve learned a lot from her articles and publications!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

