Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’ve been part of the weaving community for a long time.  One thing I love about the weaving community is observing how big a weaver’s heart can be.  In an era of Occupy Wall Street protesters rallying against capitalism and greed, it’s nice to have a reminder of those acts of kindness by those that wanted nothing for themselves but to enrich the life of a weaver . . . or the entire weaving community.

One of the most coveted weaving books is John Becker’s Pattern and Loom.  It was published in 1986 and has been out-of-print for nearly 20 years.   Becker’s Pattern and Loom is often referred to as simply Becker . . . for example one weaver may say to another weaver I looked it up in Becker.  In other words, it’s a book often referred to by it’s author’s name as opposed to its title.   Pattern and Loom is a book for serious weavers that are interested in learning more about some pretty advanced topics.  It’s one of the references I often go to when I’m working on samitum, double cloth, and lampas.

Cover of John Becker’s Pattern and Loom

Over the years, I along with many other weavers, searched high-and-low in an effort to obtain a copy.  Then several years ago, I was having lunch with a very dear friend of mine.  In the middle of lunch (and wine), she asked me Do you have a copy of Becker’s Pattern and Loom?   I thought she might be looking for a copy too.  When I told her I didn’t have a copy she then asked me Would you like a copy?  My first thought was Heck, yeah!  My second thought was How much is this going to set me back?  It turns out she had a copy and was offering to give it to me.  I was stunned.  I was doubly stunned when it arrived in the mail a couple of weeks later.  An amazing act of kindness that has motivated me many times.

But, since that fateful day, Becker’s Pattern and Loom is more accessible than ever with little more than a mouse click (and a darn good Internet connection).  In 2009, Don Wagner (with whom John Becker collaborated on Pattern and Loom) made the entire book available on-line when he inherited the copyright of the book after the Becker’s widow passed away.  When I first learned this, I wondered What’s the catch?  After all, if it’s too good to be true, it must be . . . right?  Well, I learned there is no catch, just access to an incredible book . . . and yes, another act of kindness to get this book into the hands of interested weavers.  It’s a sizable document to download . . . it tips the scales at nearly 24 MB . . . so, if you want it, I hope you’re not on dial-up.  Below are a couple of pages from the book.

For some reason, this book seems to bring out the good in many people.  Hard copies of Pattern and Loom are still sought after by some weavers, but we don’t have to do without it.  The following link will take you to the website if you are interested in downloading a copy of it http://donwagner.dk/Pattern-and-Loom.html

Enjoy!

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things – #6: John Becker’s book “Pattern and Loom”" (6)

  1. Thanks for the post and recommendation for the book. I downloaded it yesterday and can see that it will take me a long time to scratch the surface of everything that is included in the book.

    • I hope you enjoy the book. There is an ominous amount of information in Becker’s Pattern and Loom . . . it’s been keeping me busy for several years and there’s much much more to it.

  2. Hello –

    Thanks for your comments. It’s painful to think that John Becker died without knowing how much his book would mean to thousands of weavers.

    Since I put it on the Web it has been downloaded just short of 7000 times, and has since settled down to around 100 downloads per month. But in the few days since you mentioned it there have been about 250 downloads.

    Regards
    Don Wagner

    • Don . . . Thank you so much for taking the time to comment . . . and especially for making Pattern and Loom available. It is unfortunate that John Becker did not live to see his impact, but he has left a legacy and he will live on for a very long time. Thank you again!

  3. Hello again –

    Just want to tell you that Pattern and Loom is now in print again. It was difficult to find a publisher willing to take a chance with this book, after it has been downloaded some 16,000 times, but finally NIAS Press took it on.
    http://www.niaspress.dk/books/pattern-and-loom

    Regards
    Don Wagner

    • loomchick said:

      Thank you, Don. It’s good to hear from you again. Oddly enough, I stumbled across the book for sale on Amazon.com the other day showing it would be published in June 2014. I thought that was so exciting and made a post to one of the most active weaving-related internet-based discussion groups. I’m sure there are many people that will be thrilled this book will be readily available in print form again. Will the supplement be part of it too?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

