Just another WordPress.com weblog

Weaving drafts are a pretty fabulous!  Drafts provide us with a way to document what we’re weaving and to communicate with others.  They represent the past, present, and future.  Plus, they can help us transcend language barriers.  This brings me to my latest favorite thing I would like to share . . . a Russian weaving pattern book published in 1912.  (Wow!  That’s 100 years ago!).

I don’t read or speak Russian (except for a poem I recited when I was a senior in high school), but I can read a draft.  So, it was exciting the first time I looked at Al’bom tkachestva uzorvb (translated – Album of Weaving Patterns).  I couldn’t read the text, but I could easily read the drafts.  I enjoyed scanning the pages and looking at the drafts and the accompanying samples.  There are a couple that I found intriguing . . . but, for the most part they look like drafts I would find in many of the books and magazines on my shelves.  But, what I find remarkable is the connection it provides me with those that were weaving over 100 years ago half way across the world.

For the most part, the drafts may be modest . . . but, I think it would be entertaining to use the drafts and combine them with my favorite weaving yarns and setts to create something (probably dish towels, because they’re my favorite thing to weave) . . . and then add text to the hang tag that the pattern was from a century-old Russian weaving pattern book.  I think it would add that little something extra to make it more intriguing to a customer.

I’ve included some images below to give a peek inside.

To download a copy of this book, go to http://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/books/dd_patt.pdf

Enjoy!

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things: #8 – 100-year-old Russian weaving pattern book" (8)

  1. Cathy Bowman said:

    I was so excited this morning when my RSS reader showed that there was a new post from your blog. I immediately thought “oh yay! another favorite thing!” They are such wonderful nuggets. I’m off to download this book. Thanks!

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying some of my favorite things. I’ve having a lot of fun sharing these.

  2. Pauline Schultz said:

    What a treasure trove you are providing us with your Favorite Things. Thanks so much!

  3. Wow, what a treasure. Love number 40. This book is on my favorite things list too now.

  4. Thank you! I am providing a link to your blog and this resource on the 4-shaft weaving group on FaceBook!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

