Just another WordPress.com weblog

I learned to sew as a kid.  Plus, my sewing skills and knowledge evolved when I was required to take home economics from Mrs. Phillips in 7th and 8th grade.  I still love to sew and find myself learning new things on a regular basis . . . just this past weekend, I had the honor to teach at SewExpo, the largest sewing-related conference in the USA . . . and yes, I had the opportunity to learn too!

The ninth installment of my favorite things shares some on-line resources that may be a good starting point for learning to sew or share a tidbit or two that may help improve the results of a particular project.

Sew Daily – There are a number of free eBooks at the Sew Daily website.  Below are four that I really enjoy http://www.sewdaily.com/media/g/stitch/tags/free+ebook/default.aspx

  • Sewing Basics – This ebook is a glossary of terms and techniques that cover some of the fundamentals that can be a good beginning on getting started with sewing.  Below is an image that gives a little taste of what is covered in this ebook. http://www.sewdaily.com/media/p/101.aspx

  • Sewing for Beginners – This ebook is a nice complement (and overlap) to the above glossary.  It begins by covering the selection of thread.  It also includes a handful projects.  I really love the fabric gift tag project and think it would be a great way to use of small pieces of my favorite fabrics.  http://www.sewdaily.com/media/p/3544.aspx

  • Top 10 Sewing Techniques – This ebook is helpful because it introduces some really important sewing-related techniques and information on notions.  Some of the techniques include choosing the right needle, choosing the right thread, and adjusting thread tension . .. three of the most important things to know to achieve great results when sewing.  http://www.sewdaily.com/Sewing-Techniques/

  • Sewing Fabric and Tricky Materials – Fabrics seem to have a mind of their own, especially when time is limited.  This ebook is focused on sewing silk and knits, but it introduces seaming techniques (French, flat feel, Hong Kong, and triple stitched) that may be just what is needed when sewing other tricky fabrics, like handwoven fabrics.  http://www.sewdaily.com/media/p/3306.aspx

There are more terrific resources for sewing beyond what is found on the Sew Daily website.  Here are just two of them

Sewing for Beginners – This ebook is 57 pages of information and projects.  I’m really inspired by the fabric embellished shirt (pg 42) as a way of using my leftover fabric, yarns, and thread to punch up a modest garment in my closet.  http://www.favecrafts.com/Sewing/Sewing-for-Beginners-eBook#

Sew News – This ebook is a little different from the others because it introduces four specific topics . . . but, they’re very important topics and can make a huge difference.  http://www.sewnews.com/how-to-sew.html

  • Fixing sewing accidents, such as repairing a tear or ironing mishaps
  • Learning how to sew the perfect seam
  • Customizing the fit of a garment with darts and pleats
  • Creating bound buttonholes for easy-to-wear garments

If you’re interested in sewing, I hope you find some of these resources helpful.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things: #9 – Sewing-related Resources" (1)

  1. I’m impressed.Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging,and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about. Now I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something concerning this.I learned a lot.Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

