Just another WordPress.com weblog

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that an artist in possession of a creative mind, must have a great space in which to work.

With all due respect to Jane Austen, from whom I borrowed her opening line to Pride & Prejudice, but I believe every artist needs a space to call their own.  Not only do you need a space, it should also reflect you as an artist and promote creativity and creation.

As every year begins to wind down and I sense a new year is close, I start to contemplate what I need to get done to wrap up the current year.  I also consider what I want to do to prepare for the upcoming year.  One thing always on my to-do list is to organize my studio areas for the upcoming year.  There’s something very calming about a tidy and well-organized space.  Unfortunately, my desire tends to be stronger than my execution as life sometimes has other ideas for me . . . but, I try.  Doing better is an improvement over doing nothing, right?

This year, my aspiration to have my studio areas ready-to-go for 2015 is stronger than ever.  At the same time, I find myself in the early stages of designing a separate studio space.  Both of these undertakings have sent me on an adventure of seeking out studio design and organization ideas.

Here are some I have found helpful and I thought I should share them with others as my favorite things . . . just in case I’m not the only one thinking I’m going to get organized for the coming new year.  If none of these do anything for you, you may find a glimpse at the studios spaces of famous artists inspiring.  Are you more like Picasso or Georgia O’Keefe?  Chagall or Cézanne?  Kipling or Pollock?

Okay, first let’s initiate this journey with getting motivated and started.  Cloth Paper Scissors has a free PDF Art Studio Organization Ideashttp://www.clothpaperscissors.com/free-art-studio-organization-ideas/

No, not everything may be suitable for a weaving or fiber artist studio.  It has some great ideas.  Plus, it’s free!  Best of all, it has 12 ways to get motivated and start organizing.  Pretty good place to start in my opinion.

Art Studio Organizing by cloth paper scissors

Art Studio Organizing - 12 ways to get motivated and start org

The Clutter Fairy has me figured out.  She not only provides suggested solutions for getting organized, but she begins by outlining why it can be so difficult for those of us with a creative mind struggle with getting organized.  Whew!  It’s not just me.

I love the affirmation and find it a great way to face the task with a better understanding.  Her Tips and Tricks have me ready to head to the office supply store and get started.  http://clutterfairyhouston.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Organizing-Your-Art-Space-for-a-Creative-Explosion.pdf

Interweave Press (Yep, the publisher of Handwoven magazine) has a short write-up, Art Studio Ideas for Real People, that inspires some easy and quick http://www.interweavestore.com/art-studios-ideas-organization-resources

  • How to make a home studio that works for you
  • Top 10 free and low-cost art studio storage ideas
  • Embroidery Hoop Wall Pockets by Bonnie Ferguson (Shown below – I love this idea and now know what I can do with all of of those old embroidery hoops I have laying around and small amounts of handwoven fabric!)
  • 10 Easy Studio Decorating Ideas

embroidery hoop organizers

 

Live Simply by Annie has some storage towers and an art cart that I think I really need to look into.  http://www.livesimplybyannie.com/organizing-the-art-studio/

5-bin storage

Art Cart

I also like how she shows some discreet organizing ideas and then pulls them together in some real life applications.

Real life applications

Pinterest is a great source for organization ideas.  Check out some (or all) of the links below to see if there’s an idea that suits your needs.

Crates

Wine rack and lg plastic cups

A couple of things that have worked well for me are below

 

  • Pegboard for organizing shuttles (I show only a portion of my shuttles.  What can I say?  I love cool shuttles!)
  • Sewing thread spool rack for holding bobbins (A great way to keep track of bobbins that normally want to roll around)
  • Reed rack (This is how I made use of space near the ceiling to organize some of my longer reeds)
  • Crocks (I love ceramic crocks and metal tins for organizing stick shuttles, threading hooks, and more)
  • Binders (How would I ever live without binders and sheet protectors?)

Binders

Crocks

Pegboard

Reed racks

Spool rack with bobbins

 

Now, if that doesn’t inspire, maybe taking a peek inside of the workspaces for some famous artists will inspire . . . or at least make you feel better.  I think any time I feel disorganized and the clutter is getting away from me, I’ll return to this website and take a gander at Alexander Calder’s space.  Yowza!

40 inspiring workspaces of the famously creative – http://www.buzzfeed.com/summeranne/40-inspiring-workspaces-of-the-famously-creative#49xzd3

Picasso

 

Pablo Picasso

Cezzane

Paul Cezanne

Enjoy!  Here comes 2015 whether we’re ready or not!

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things: #43 – Studio Organizing Ideas (and a peek inside the workspaces of famous artists)" (4)

  1. Loved this article – very timely for me as we’re planning my *new* weaving studio; hope to have it completed before I finish my Fiber Arts program at Haywood Community College! So many good ideas to ponder. And LOVE the shuttle display. I’m a bit of an exotic wood shuttle collector myself. Eye-candy for the hand….

  2. Thanks Robyn very timely how did you know that I had just started a mega tidy? Already found something that had been missing since July! Hope all is well with you. Rosie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • loomchick said:

      Thanks, Rosie! I find if I’m tidy, I save money. The more cluttered things are, the more likely I will have difficulty finding something and will go re-buy whatever I’m looking for.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

