Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anyone who knows me very well . . . well, at least as a weaver . . . knows I love the four-shaft weaves.  For the first 30 years I wove, I didn’t weave anything except four-shaft weaves.  With Marguerite Davison’s book, A Handweaver’s Pattern Book, in one hand and a shuttle in the other, I never ran out of ideas . . . However, Robin and Russ Handweavers had a periodical that tempted me with weaves for more-than-four for a long time.

As I mentioned in my favorite thing #44 (Robin and Russ Handweavers and Warp and Weft), I was fortunate to grow up and learn to weave in Portland, OR.  Not only did my high school, Woodrow Wilson High School, have an art room with 15 floor looms . . . I was also a little more than an hour away from Robin & Russ Handweavers in McMinnville, OR.

Even though I was more than happy and fulfilled weaving on four shafts, it was the Robin and Russ periodical Drafts and Designs – A Guide 5 and 12 Harness Weaves that got me thinking about weaving on more than four shafts.

What impresses me is how contemporary many of the woven swatches look!   I hope everyone can take a look at some of my favorites swatches below from the periodical and get inspired.

The following link will take you to the entire collection available on-line.  https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/dad.html

Deflected Doubleweave – Vol 2., No 6 – April 1960

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_2.pdfVol 2, No 8 April 1960

Red and Black Shadow Weave with Huck lace – Vol 4, No 3 – November 1961

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_4.pdf

4 3 1961

Black and white – Vol 6., No 1 – September 1963

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_6.pdf

8S - Vol #6, No 1 - Sept 1963

Blue ocean waves – Vol 7., No 1 – September 1964

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_7.pdf7 1 Sept 1964

Six-shaft single two-tie (aka Summer & Winter) – Vol 9, No 2 – October 1966

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_9.pdf

9 2 Oct 1966

Eight-shaft huck lace variation – Volume 11, No 8 – April 1969

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_11.pdf

11 8 April 1969

Eight-shaft supplementary warp weave – Vol 21, No 1 – September 1978

https://www.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/periodicals/dad_21.pdf

21 1 Sept 78

The above samples prove what’s old is new again.  I hope some of these will inspire weavers to check out Drafts and Designs – A Guide for 5 to 12 Harness Weaves.  If you don’t have a loom with more than four shafts, perhaps this becomes the tipping point to encourage  you to consider a loom with more than four.

Enjoy!

 

Comments on: "These are a few of my favorite things: #48 – Drafts and Design – A Guide to 5 and 12 Harness Weaves" (6)

  1. Wouldn’t it be nice if someone would re-publish the book that was later done from the drafts in the newsletter? With color, of course!

  2. Joan Ahern said:

    So many ideas, so little time!

  3. No kidding, Joan! I wish I could find my Christmas stocking full of one thing . . . time!

  4. Robyn, I find myself going, “YEAH!” every time I come to your blog!
    I love how you’re giving exposure to these wonderful old periodicals and to handweaving.net and online digital archive. I love both those sites. I’ve collected a lot of information to keep me exploring for decades. I’m self taught (so far) in the art of weaving, but find myself strangely drawn to the ‘old’ books and patterns. Bateman just floors me! Someday…..
    For now, I’m just having a ball learning, experimenting, playing and thanks to free software, coming up with my own designs too.

    Robyn, you’re an inspiration for all of us new and old in the art. It’s a timeless tradition of function and necessity, combined with the beautiful visions of the human soul and you always manage to explore a new corner of it. Keep up the great work.

    Tom Z.
    IL, USA

    • Thank you so much. It’s nice to read you enjoy the blog posts. I’ve had a lot of fun doing them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

